My #ToneUp Summer Fitness Goal: A Push-Ups Challenge

photo (1)

photo (2)

During tonight’s #ToneUp Twitter Party with @MAMIVERSE, they challenged us to state one fitness goal we would publicly commit to this summer. I instantly thought of push-ups. When I was studying karate for 5 years as a teenager, I had a lot of arm strength. We would do sets of push-ups as part of every warm-up. During karate camp, there was a push-up contest and I was set on winning. I think the winner was determined by who did the most push-ups throughout the day. You had to have someone watch you and sign a booklet. I actually did win, so that was fun.

At the time, I clearly remember that I was able to drop and do a set of 50 push-ups at once.  It’s hard to believe now that I was capable of this. I definitely took my strength for granted.

Now, doing 50 push-ups has always been a goal that I’d like to be able to accomplish again. Right now, I can do about 17 push-ups comfortably in one set. So, it’s officially ON. I will do push-ups every day and work on my arm strength.  At the end of the summer, I will make a video so you can watch me do 50 solid, real push-ups. Here we go!

Leave a Reply

